FIDE – World Chess Federation

FIDE stands for World Chess Federation. It is called FIDE because of its French acronym Federation Internationale des Echecs. FIDE was founded in Paris, France on July 24, 1924. Its motto is Gens una sumus, which is “We are all one family.”

FIDE flag

FIDE is recognized as the supreme international body, responsible for the game of chess. It unites 188 (number is changeable) National Chess Federations around the world. The organization has its own seal (emblem), flag and anthem.

All federations conduct chess tournaments in their countries under the auspices of FIDE and send the tournament results. FIDE recalculates the results and then publish the ratings of all chess players on the FIDE website monthly.

In 1950, FIDE awarded the first 138 chess titles to 27 Grandmasters (GMs), 94 International Masters (IMs) and 17 International Women Masters (IWMs). Among the first Grandmasters, there were the following famous chess players:

Mikhail Botvinnik (USSR), Max Euwe (Netherlands), Vasily Smyslov (USSR), Oldrich Duras (Czechoslovakia), Paul Keres (USSR), Ernst Gruenfeld (Austria), Andor Lilienthal (USSR), Miguel Najdorf (Argentina), Savielly Tartakower (France).

Back to top     Home Page

Home Page

Back to top button